My Love for Grey’s Anatomy

You are lying if you say Grey’s Anatomy has never inspired you to be a surgeon. It’s simply a right of passage that GA viewers feel immensely and fall in love with the art of “surgery.” I remember being a little girl and running away from the television room if I even saw a commercial for Grey’s Anatomy, for I was nervous a headless man with blood gushing out of his stomach would appear. But now I am not afraid, rather I am completely hooked on this show of dramatic hospital life. I binge watched all of the seasons on Netflix, and shockingly started the series over again. This television show incorporates love, lust, conflict, imagination, and creativity all into one. Each episode holds a lesson, and the audience is gifted with a voice over from Meredith Grey urging them to hold on to their loved ones or to not be afraid of dying. The conflicts that arise between relationships and “hostile uteruses” and friendships creates an internal reminder within the audience to return the next week or press “next episode” on Netflix. The best portion of this show is hands down the most amazing television connection ever: Christina Yang and Meredith Grey. Each woman is independent in their own light, but together they learn to trust and love. They dance when life gets to crazy, and drink when boys do them wrong, and laugh when their twisted minds think alike. Through plane crashes, suicide attempts, and surgery with a gun to ones head the two girls stayed best friends. Even after Christina Yang moved onto bigger and better things they still maintain a closeness that will never be recreated on television. They are the diamonds of the industry. Out of all of the surgeon based television shows, GA trumps them all. I will never forget the episode Derek Shepherd got shot, or the moment Bailey married her second husband unaware that Adele Weber just died. I will always remember the way I felt every time Meredith hurt (yes I am a hard core fan) or the way I cried when Iz left Alex before fighting her cancer. This show cuts off characters too fast, and doesn’t always care for the feelings of their fans, but it is still a series that will go down in history. The impressive thirteen seasons reiterates its greatness and has created a family. I love the entire idea of Grey’s Anatomy.  It pushes me to find something I love just as much as Derek loves operating on brains. Or just as much as Derek loves Meredith for that matter. Speaking of Derek and Meredith. Their love is one that puts other loves to shame. They  have gone through so much and flourished. Besides the insanely attractive cast and impeccable script, the show conveys an intellectual view on the trials of surgeons as well as the hardships that come along with the formation of relationships. I have fallen in love with this show and I am a dedicated fan. I need to know what happens to Meredith’s kids, do they become doctors? Or do they make their own path? I’m even interested in the arrival of new character. But above all I cannot wait to take in the lessons that correlate with each show. I live and breathe the soothing inspiring words that spew out of Meredith Grey’s mouth. Grey’s Anatomy will forever have a place in the hearts of viewers around the world.

Important Grey’s Anatomy quotes all fans should recall:

  • “It’s a beautiful day to save lives. Let’s have some fun.”
  • “Pick me. Choose me. Love me.”
  • “You were like coming up for fresh air. It’s like I was drowning and you saved me. It’s all I know.”
  • “You can waste your life drawing lines or you can live your life crossing them.”
  • “Sometimes it’s good to be scared. It means you still have something to lose.”
  • “It turns out sometimes you have to do the wrong thing. Sometimes you have to make a big mistake to figure out how to make things right. Mistakes are painful, but they’re the only way to find out who we really are.”
  • “Have some fire. Be unstoppable. Be a force of nature. Be better than anyone here and don’t give a damn about what anyone thinks.”
  • “Don’t let what he wants eclipse what you need. He’s very dreamy, but he’s not the sun. You are!”
Leave a Reply

