Last First Day of High School

My last first day of highschool was yesterday. WOW. It blows my mind that in a matter of nine short months my normal routine of sleep and school and activities will come crumbling to a halt and morph into a life of adulting and taxes and college exams that will put my past tests to shame. I attended a senior women’s breakfast clad in my blue and gold senior women’s jersey with a smile on my face and lump in my stomach. Everyone I surround myself with was there stuffing their faces with deconstructed french toast and egg bakes. We talked about the upcoming year, future plans and nerves. The breakfast meeting was short and it concluded with a group picture. I’m glad I went. The drive to school alone without my carpool buddy was depressing, but I walked in with some friends. I’m still in awe that I was nervous to walk through the doors on my last first day. I shouldn’t have been that nervous right? One of the perks of being the oldest in the school is the amount of invisible power you feel in the palm of your hands. No matter how cool you are or how many younger kids secretly hate you, every 12th grader still feels superior to the lower classmen, and let me tell you it is awesome. No more feeling like you are two feet tall and less than special. My day went smoothly and the teachers seemed to have our best in mind. My classes were challenglingly perfect for me. The only thing that got me through the day was the idea that I am almost done. I could feel the excitment oozing from everyone, even the immature boys and teachers who won’t be leaving the school proceeding graduation. Twelve long years of education in a school system filled with rules and restrictions has gotten old. Freedom has been on the tip of my tounge and the top of my wish list for a while now. I need to mention that I began to miss the days where 1,2,3 and a,b,c were the hardest parts of the curriculum when I was sitting in my college spanish class, but hey I’m up for the challenge. I cannot believe it is coming to an end. Less than 100 tests to go and I will be graduated (fingers crossed) and packing my bags for the adventure of a lifetime. I promise to take in every last moment of senior year while never forgetting that the best is yet to come, and to come very soon it will. I’m one year away from the greatest years of my life. Although this year will be stressful (ACT, college applications, AP tests nicknamed the Tyrannosaurus Rex test, girls) it will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

